I’m starting an online news site

Bridge

You couldn’t get rid of me that easily.

Yes, I needed some time for myself. I went to California, spent my days walking on the beach, hiking in the mountains, hanging with my starlet friends in the sun. I haven’t been this relaxed in decades.

But California was a vacation, not a vocation. I’m back in Halifax now, and getting back to work. As a reporter. I’ll be covering City Hall, city council, municipal government, the local business scene and crown corporations. I’ll be doubling down on the investigative reporting. I’ll write opinion pieces. In short, I’ll be doing pretty much what I’ve done the last eight years in Halifax (and more), just not at The Coast.

Instead, I’ll soon be rolling out my own online news website. I have a name for the site, but I’m not going to announce the name until the site goes live in early May.

I can tell you this: the success of the new site will depend on you, the reader. I won’t get rich on this enterprise, but I do need to earn a living. And it costs money to produce good investigative reporting, to hire other reporters, to pay for operations. To cover those costs, the new site will be behind a partial paywall. There will be lots of free material, but many of the news articles and all of the investigative reporting will be available only to subscribers. I’ll announce rates later, but subscriptions will be very affordable.

Before the site goes live, I’m going to write a series of blog posts with my thoughts on various aspects of journalism. I’ll explain why an independent news site is necessary, and why the business model is based on subscriptions instead of advertising. The first of these blog posts will appear here tomorrow.

If you would like to get an email notification of these blog posts, please send an email to timbousquet@yahoo.com with “update me” in the subject line.

22 comments

  1. Hello Mr. Bousquet. I look forward to your next project …. the citizens of Halifax need someone of your journalistic prowess to investigate the affairs that affect us so much. I’d like to make one comment though about your sarcastic dig at Jan Wong … it is beneath you and disheartening from my perspective as I have followed her from her days at the Globe and Mail and have always enjoyed her writing. Opinion is one thing but slander another ….. IMHOO … Anyway .. otherwise … keep up the good work.

  2. Well, even though I don’t live in Halifax, I’ll probably subscribe because the issues you address are common to pretty much all mid-sized cities. Often I find that solutions tried and failed in Halifax are the same solutions proposed for my city, Wilmington, DE. Specifically in the areas of development. We have a spanking new convention center that nobody particularly wants to visit. We added a cinemaplex, and still they did not come. Finally, as of last week, we added a hotel. All this with subsidies from the taxpayers. Somehow, it never seems to trickle down and only a few, low wage jobs ever result. If I hadn’t been following your stories in The Coast, somehow all this in DE would have escaped my notice.

    Thanks for the good work and good luck!

  3. I’m sorry I missed you when you were in Chico but am glad you returned to Halifax refreshed and ready to resume your work with new purpose and independence. Good Luck Tim!

  4. Boy, you beat me to it! I’ve been thinking about a similar, though more general interest, project. My idea was to access the site through an app – is that an option for you? You might look into it. Congrats and good luck!

  5. I’m excited to follow your work! I’ve tried starting my own video reporting series of sorts on Halifax with some friends and would love to potentially collaborate in the future!

      1. LOL I was against this whole re-branding thing from the start. I don’t believe it works. A snotty tissue is a snotty tissue. Calling it a Reclaimed Kleenex doesn’t change anything. To change the presentation of the municipality properly, it needed to start at the grass roots. Mind you, to properly brand the municipality, it never should have had “Halifax” in the name. It should have been an inclusive or new name. If I recall “HaDaBeSac” was joked about at one time!!

        I always appreciate Tim’s viewpoint – especially if I disagree!!

  6. Out of interest, do you read any search engine optimisation agencies?
    I never find good information in anything which can be actioned
    Added to Digg, it will be useful to people over there!

Leave a Reply

